Lancer Library: Lancer Library: Research

Databases

Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window
Superb Academic Content to Enrich AP, IB and Honors-Level Curricula
Covering a wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects, Advanced Placement Source offers students the essential research materials to achieve academic success in honors, AP or IB programs. This database is the only AP-focused multidisciplinary product on the market.
Subjects Include:
Arts and music
Biology
Chemistry
Computer science
Economics and statistics
Environmental and life sciences
Ethnic and multicultural studies
Mathematics
Physics
Political science
Psychology
Science and technology
U.S., European and world history
Leading Periodicals for AP-Focused Programs
Advanced Placement Source offers ongoing full text with no embargo for these leading news, politics, and science periodicals:

The Atlantic
Congressional Digest
Discover
History Today
The Nation
The New Republic
Newsweek
Science News
Scientific American
TIME
American History This link opens in a new window
Includes a thorough exploration of American history through eras, as well as a direct search feature.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on world geography, including culture, government, history, and current news on countries, states, and provinces.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Contains details about past eras regarding what people ate, drank, sang, etc.
Educator's Explora This link opens in a new window
Allows you to search one or both of the professional databases, ERIC and Professional Development Collection, which includes access to over 520 educational journals.
Explora This link opens in a new window
Searches newspapers, books, biographies, radio/TV news transcripts, country reports, state/province reports/maps/flags, and film & video in various subjects including arts & media, English & language arts, business, careers, current issues, health, history, math, science, social studies, sports, and technology.
First Search
This is where you will be able to find if other libraries have books in the World Cat database.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
contains nearly a million biographies from across the world and spanning all of history. Biographies are updated daily and include content from multiple reference sources including, but not limited to, American Men & Women of Science, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Governments of the World, and the Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.
Gale In Context: Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Health & Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text magazines, newspapers and reference book articles including biographies, history, science, and literature.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Explores issues in business/economics, energy/environment, family, health/medicine, law/politics, science/technology/ethics, society/culture, war/diplomacy and includes links to hot topics from the NYTimes, USA Today, & Newsweek.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
US and World History as well as access to the content of popular book titles.
Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society This link opens in a new window
Explores issues in depth including the current views, a discussion, articles, media, visuals, documents, facts and figures, and a timeline for each topic.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories, and poems.
Modern Genocide This link opens in a new window
Includes sources spanning past and present genocides including memoirs, narratives, and other primary source material in addition to general historical information.
Points of View This link opens in a new window
Offers points of view articles, newspapers, books, radio & TV transcripts & videos on current topics.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Contains unbiased, authoritative information about pop culture, both past and present. Updated in real time.
Wilson This link opens in a new window
Excellent full text database for academic research.
World At War This link opens in a new window
Covers major wars across the globe dating back to 1500. Includes an "analyze" section which goes in depth about each conflict.
World Geography This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth information on countries around the world. Includes an area to analyze issues in various regions of the world and offers CLIO-View to compare & contrast two countries.
World History -Ancient and Medieval This link opens in a new window
Includes world history from pre-history to 1500AD and includes articles, activities, discussions, media & visuals, and glossary terms for eras that are available for exploration. Also includes cultural documents as well as ideas and movements.
World History - Modern This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from 1500-present as a companion to Ancient and Medieval World History (ABC-CLIO).

ABC-CLIO ALL DATABASES SEARCH

American History This link opens in a new window Includes a thorough exploration of American history through eras, as well as a direct search feature.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window Contains details about past eras regarding what people ate, drank, sang, etc.
Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society This link opens in a new window Explores issues in depth including the current views, a discussion, articles, media, visuals, documents, facts and figures, and a timeline for each topic.
Modern Genocide This link opens in a new window Includes sources spanning past and present genocides including memoirs, narratives, and other primary source material in addition to general historical information.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Contains unbiased, authoritative information about pop culture, both past and present. Updated in real time.
World At War This link opens in a new window Covers major wars across the globe dating back to 1500. Includes an "analyze" section which goes in depth about each conflict.
World Geography This link opens in a new window Provides in-depth information on countries around the world. Includes an area to analyze issues in various regions of the world and offers CLIO-View to compare & contrast two countries.
World History -Ancient and Medieval This link opens in a new window Includes world history from pre-history to 1500AD and includes articles, activities, discussions, media & visuals, and glossary terms for eras that are available for exploration. Also includes cultural documents as well as ideas and movements.
World History - Modern This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from 1500-present as a companion to Ancient and Medieval World History (ABC-CLIO).

EBSCO ALL DATABASES SEARCH

Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window Superb Academic Content to Enrich AP, IB and Honors-Level Curricula Covering a wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects, Advanced Placement Source offers students the essential research materials to achieve academic success in honors, AP or IB programs. This database is the only AP-focused multidisciplinary product on the market.
Subjects Include:
Arts and music
Biology
Chemistry
Computer science
Economics and statistics
Environmental and life sciences
Ethnic and multicultural studies
Mathematics
Physics
Political science
Psychology
Science and technology
U.S., European and world history
Leading Periodicals for AP-Focused Programs
Advanced Placement Source offers ongoing full text with no embargo for these leading news, politics, and science periodicals:

The Atlantic
Congressional Digest
Discover
History Today
The Nation
The New Republic
Newsweek
Science News
Scientific American
TIME
Educator's Explora This link opens in a new window Allows you to search one or both of the professional databases, ERIC and Professional Development Collection, which includes access to over 520 educational journals.
Explora This link opens in a new window
Searches newspapers, books, biographies, radio/TV news transcripts, country reports, state/province reports/maps/flags, and film & video in various subjects including arts & media, English & language arts, business, careers, current issues, health, history, math, science, social studies, sports, and technology.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window US and World History as well as access to the content of popular book titles.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of  synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, and author biographies, plus full-text  classic novels, short stories, and poems.  
Points of View This link opens in a new window Offers points of view articles, newspapers, books, radio & TV transcripts & videos on current topics.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.

GALE POWER SEARCH

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window contains nearly a million biographies from across the world and spanning all of history. Biographies are updated daily and include content from multiple reference sources including, but not limited to, American Men & Women of Science, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Governments of the World, and the Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.
Gale In Context: Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Health & Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window Includes full-text magazines, newspapers and reference book articles including biographies, history, science, and literature.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Explores issues in business/economics, energy/environment, family, health/medicine, law/politics, science/technology/ethics, society/culture, war/diplomacy and includes links to hot topics from the NYTimes, USA Today, & Newsweek.

General Reference

Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window Superb Academic Content to Enrich AP, IB and Honors-Level Curricula Covering a wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects, Advanced Placement Source offers students the essential research materials to achieve academic success in honors, AP or IB programs. This database is the only AP-focused multidisciplinary product on the market.
Subjects Include:
Arts and music
Biology
Chemistry
Computer science
Economics and statistics
Environmental and life sciences
Ethnic and multicultural studies
Mathematics
Physics
Political science
Psychology
Science and technology
U.S., European and world history
Leading Periodicals for AP-Focused Programs
Advanced Placement Source offers ongoing full text with no embargo for these leading news, politics, and science periodicals:

The Atlantic
Congressional Digest
Discover
History Today
The Nation
The New Republic
Newsweek
Science News
Scientific American
TIME
Explora This link opens in a new window Searches newspapers, books, biographies, radio/TV news transcripts, country reports, state/province reports/maps/flags, and film & video in various subjects including arts & media, English & language arts, business, careers, current issues, health, history, math, science, social studies, sports, and technology.
First Search This is where you will be able to find if other libraries have books in the World Cat database.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window contains nearly a million biographies from across the world and spanning all of history. Biographies are updated daily and include content from multiple reference sources including, but not limited to, American Men & Women of Science, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Governments of the World, and the Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.
Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window Includes full-text magazines, newspapers and reference book articles including biographies, history, science, and literature.
Wilson This link opens in a new window Excellent full text database for academic research.

Education/Teaching

Educator's Explora This link opens in a new window Allows you to search one or both of the professional databases, ERIC and Professional Development Collection, which includes access to over 520 educational journals.

Health

Gale In Context: Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Health & Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

Issues

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Explores issues in business/economics, energy/environment, family, health/medicine, law/politics, science/technology/ethics, society/culture, war/diplomacy and includes links to hot topics from the NYTimes, USA Today, & Newsweek.
Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society This link opens in a new window Explores issues in depth including the current views, a discussion, articles, media, visuals, documents, facts and figures, and a timeline for each topic.
Points of View This link opens in a new window Offers points of view articles, newspapers, books, radio & TV transcripts & videos on current topics.

Literature

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of  synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, and author biographies, plus full-text  classic novels, short stories, and poems.

Science

National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window Includes access to all issues of National Geographic from 1888 to the present, People, Animals, and the World database access, and National Geographic for Kids
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.

Social Studies

American History This link opens in a new window Includes a thorough exploration of American history through eras, as well as a direct search feature.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window Detailed information on world geography, including culture, government, history, and current news on countries, states, and provinces.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Contains details about past eras regarding what people ate, drank, sang, etc.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window US and World History as well as access to the content of popular book titles.
Modern Genocide This link opens in a new window Includes sources spanning past and present genocides including memoirs, narratives, and other primary source material in addition to general historical information.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window Contains unbiased, authoritative information about pop culture, both past and present. Updated in real time.
World At War This link opens in a new window Covers major wars across the globe dating back to 1500. Includes an "analyze" section which goes in depth about each conflict.
World Geography This link opens in a new window Provides in-depth information on countries around the world. Includes an area to analyze issues in various regions of the world and offers CLIO-View to compare & contrast two countries.
World History -Ancient and Medieval This link opens in a new window Includes world history from pre-history to 1500AD and includes articles, activities, discussions, media & visuals, and glossary terms for eras that are available for exploration. Also includes cultural documents as well as ideas and movements.
World History - Modern This link opens in a new window Covers world history from 1500-present as a companion to Ancient and Medieval World History (ABC-CLIO).

Usernames & Passwords for Off-Campus Access

Please note that databases and newspapers require a shared username and password (listed below) for off-campus access, NOT your LP Google credentials!

However, you can only view the document listing the usernames and passwords when logged into your Chrome browser with your LP Google credentials. If you have questions about database usernames/passwords, please contact your librarian.

News Sources

The Chicago Sun Times
Click login and use our shared credentials OR you can create your own free account. To view the daily paper, click on "E-Paper" or you can read the online content.
The Chicago Tribune
Daily Herald This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus
Allows you to search for full text newspaper and magazine articles.
New York Times Academic Pass Redemption This link opens in a new window
You and members of your school community with valid school email addresses with the following domain @lphs.org can now enjoy access to NYTimes.com.*

To activate your Pass, please follow these steps:

Visit nytimes.com/passes. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address with the approved domain. If you already have a NYTimes.com account associated with such email address, log in with those credentials.

Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder.

You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. Now you can enjoy access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.

HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.